| or Call: (404) 403-0491

Tweet Me!

1991 Tampa Stadium "Krewe of Honor"

1991 Tampa Initiates Krewe Of Honor

In 1991, the Buccaneers organization initiated the "Krewe of Honor" to recognize top players, and featured a mural of the first class of three members. The display was located on the east side of the stadium. Quarterback Doug Williams was inducted September 6, 1992, and owner Hugh Culverhouse on September 5, 1993. No additional members were added before Tampa Stadium was closed and demolished; when the stadium was demolished in 1998, so was the Krewe.

#63 Lee Roy Selmon - Defensive End (1976-1984)

1991 - KREWE OF HONOR: In 1976, Selmon was the first player picked in the NFL draft, the first-ever pick for the expansion Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He joined older brother, Dewey, who was a second-round pick of the Bucs. In his first year, Selmon was awarded the team's 'Rookie of the Year' and MVP. Selmon played in six straight Pro Bowls and was named NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1979. Buccaneer assistant Abe Gibron said, "Selmon has no peers" at defensive end, while former Detroit Lions coach Monte Clark compared him to "a grown man at work among a bunch of boys".: »READ MORE ABOUT SELMON HERE»

John Harvey McKay - Head Coach (1976-1984)

1991 - KREWE OF HONOR: In 1976, McKay moved to the NFL as the first head coach of the expansion Tampa Bay Buccaneers. The Buccaneers made the playoffs three times under coach McKay, including an appearance in the NFC Championship Game in 1979. McKay was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a coach in 1988. On January 1, 2014, McKay was named the All-Century Coach of the Rose Bowl Game during the celebration of the 100th Rose Bowl Game. His son represented him in the 2014 Rose Parade.: »READ MORE ABOUT COACH MCKAY HERE»

#42 Ricky Lynn Bell - Running Back (1977-1981)

1991 - KREWE OF HONOR: In 1977, Bell was the first overall NFL Draft choice, selected by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Bell signed a five-year contract for a reported $1.2 million, by far the richest contract ever signed by an NFL rookie. Bell's selection was not a surprise, however, because Tampa Bay was coached by John McKay, Bell's former head coach at USC through 1975. In 1979, Bell enjoyed his finest season, rushing for 1,263 yards and leading the Buccaneers to the championship of the NFC Central Division.: »READ MORE ABOUT BELL HERE»

#12 Douglas Lee Williams - Quarterback (1978-1982)

1992 - KREWE OF HONOR: In 1978, Williams was the first franchise quarterback of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers when he was selected in the NFL draft's first round and started for five seasons leading the Bucs to the playoffs in three of those years. In 1987 Williams became Super Bowl MVP. He had two separate spells in the Buccaneer front office. Williams is known for his remarkable performance in Super Bowl XXII. Williams, who was named the Super Bowl MVP, passed for a Super Bowl record 340 yards and four touchdowns, with one interception. He also became the first player in Super Bowl history to pass for four touchdowns in a single quarter, and four in a half. Williams was the first African American quarterback to start in an NFL league championship game and the first to win a Super Bowl, in 1988 (Russell Wilson became the second to win in 2014 with Super Bowl XLVIII).: »READ MORE ABOUT WILLIAMS HERE»

Hugh Franklin Culverhouse, Sr. - Buccaneers Owner (1976-1994)

1993 - KREWE OF HONOR: Culverhouse was the longtime owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers of the National Football League (NFL). He was a successful tax lawyer, and his real estate investments made him one of the nation's wealthiest men. His work brought him into contact with National Football League team owners, and his failed purchase of the Los Angeles Rams placed him in line to become the owner of the fledgling Buccaneer franchise. He owned the team from its inception until his death. Culverhouse became one of the most influential team owners in the NFL, and was credited with modernizing the league, even while his teams were rarely competitive on the field. He oversaw the league's course of direction through two player strikes, and the modern league's financial stability is in great part due to his leadership. He held influence for over a decade, before stepping back due to criticism of what other owners saw as his overly-secretive ways.: »READ MORE ABOUT CULVERHOUSE HERE»

1998 was the end of the Bucs Krewe of Honor

No additional members were added before Tampa Stadium also referred to as "Ray Jay" or "The New Sombrero", a spinoff from "The Big Sombrero", or Houlihan's Stadium was closed and demolished; when the stadium was demolished in 1998, so was the Krewe of Honor program.

(Please note we would like to feature a photograph of the Krewe of Honor mural that was on display and located on the east side of the stadium... If you have one and would like to share please contact us)

Events & Schedules


[NUMO.CALENDAR: AGENDA(id=2&event_type=8)]

[NUMO.CALENDAR: AGENDA(id=2&event_type=9)]

BucsFan Blog

[NUMO.BLOG: DISPLAY(id=all&style=short&length=40&max_display=5&show_author=0)]